The Power of Web 2.0 Technology

Web 2.0 is not only changing the way people share information, but it’s changing the world! Yes I believe that Web 2.0 applications can be used for connecting and bonding as well as for work and development purposes. Today there are many terms that are associated with Web 2.0 such as:

What does that mean? Web 2.0 applications allows users to interact and collaborate with each other in a social media dialogue as creators of user-generated content in a virtual community, in contrast with Web 1.0 where websites are static (limited to passive viewing of content). Today I don’t want to re-mention Web 2.0 great application. However, I will introduce to you a great Web 2.0 tool that can be used for businesses as well as for students or individuals.

Dropbox!

I have been using this tools for this semester in my group assignments and I found it very helpful compare to email or IM application; in term of collaboration and communication. Dropbox can be used as an online USB or to share files and media on the web.  Any file you save in your Dropbox account also instantly saves to your computers, phones, and the Dropbox website. In addition, any file you save in your account can also be shared securely among your friends or co-workers.

Dropbox for teams Vs email Vs Google Docs Vs IM application 

Web 1.0 tools such as email has the problem of information overload. On the other hand, Google Docs is a great tool but, it has the problem of supporting a limited range of file types. IM such as Skype or MSN, can only be used when participate are online.

However, I found Dropbox a robust tool that can be used by individuals or enterprises. This is because sharing a file in Dropbox between friends or for collaboration and  communication purposes is simple! You just need to sign up for Dropbox and download their free application that can be found in multiple platform such as Window, Mac OS, iPhone or on the web. After that, you can just drag and drop any file you want in your Dropbox folder that exist in your machine and choose who want to see and update your share files securely.

To see how Dropbox works, please click here

 


About Morohen
This blog is created for INN346 Enterprise 2.0 subject | Queensland University of Technology

13 Responses to The Power of Web 2.0 Technology

  1. vydam says:

    Dropbox is amazing, it is very useful as I too use it for my group assignments. It makes sharing and collaborating so much easier. But one thing does bug me though, when two people use the same file it will not save and sometimes gets interrupted and may freeze. I hope they find a way to fix this soon or to let everyone using know that the file is currently being edited or open

    • Morohen says:

      Hi Vydam

      when 2 users open a file in dropbox. The first one who open that file is the one can edit/update that file and then when the file is closed the other user can then update the file. So files cannot be updated/edited simultaneously and I think this an advantage of Dropbox

    • evanwarburton says:

      I’ve had a similar positive experience using dropbox recently too. From this I’m keen to get a chance at using aeroFS. It appears to be a similar service except that none of your shared files are kept on their servers but on your own devices and p2p technology is used to facilitate transfers. It’s in beta testing at the moment though and invite only.

  2. Wu Yunshan says:

    Hi Morohen,
    Excellent post! I’ve never used Dropbox before. It sounds pretty powerful and easy use. I have a strong willing to try it immediately.

    I want to say that blog is really a good tool. I am really happy to obtain new knowledge and experience from others through communication. That’s the best harvest for me!

  3. angjer says:

    Do you get more storage space using your QUT email (because its an educational institution)? I use Dropbox for one simple reason: I keep loosing my USB!

  4. Dan says:

    Yes, Dropbox is certainly a valuable tool. I use it a lot to keep my uni files synched across my PC/laptop.
    Some minor feedback about your post – as a reader I’d probably rather you embedded the YouTube videos, rather than just linking to them. Especially with that first Dropbox link.
    Other than that, though, I think you’ve given some great information around Dropbox. A great post.

  5. laucurtis says:

    Hello Morohen,
    I will have to agree with you that Dropbox will be a excellent tool for business and also allows employees to share their ideas, or recent photos and videos to their colleagues especially when they are travelling. In addition, it keeps employees organized and at least knows where they have stored their documents for presentations or conferences.

    Curtis Lau

  6. aldkhaeel says:

    I have tried Dropbox on mac and iphone, as you have said, I can add/edit any file on one device and automatically synchronise with all other devices or people sharing the same file. Also, its useful with unacceptable email attachment files ( e.g executable or too large file). all I do is just drop a file on Dropbox folder and send public link to anyone even if they don’t have Dropbox account.

    Thanks

  7. Hello Morohen,
    Great post, I too have never used dropbox and it sounds terrific! Is the space for users limited to 5GB or less? more? Can you purcahse a pro version to get unlimited?

    Cheers!!

    • Morohen says:

      Hi Brettstevenson

      The free account starts from 2GB and if you keep inviting friends or family to use Dropbox, your account will increase by 250MB per invitee.
      However, there are other types of pro account with monthly/annual fee. For more details you can check out Dropbox price plan

  8. Sean.Shang says:

    Nice tool! that helps me alot. Donot need to emile myself anymore.

Leave a Reply

